Yes! This course is required by the State of Texas to earn your Class M endorsement, even if you had one previously. Upon completion, you will receive a Certificate, which you can take to your local DPS for Motorcycle Licensure (minors have more steps). For adults, you'll need to pass the 25 question multiple choice written test and the 5 Evaluation Riding test in order to pass the class. Testing is completed onsite with us.
Yes! The only skill requirement for the Basic Rider Course is that you are capable of balancing a two-wheeled bicycle. We will begin your learning process with the very basics of motorcycle riding.
Yes! We offer an every day discounted from the State's regulated price of $235 for the Basic Rider Course. We also offer a Military Discount. Potential military students should use the code USAHERO when signing up.
Yes! To ride a scooter or trike on the street, you are required to have a Class M License. Though limited Class M licenses for both scooter and trike may be achieved, this course will earn you an unlimited Class M, which allows you to ride all two and three wheeled motorcycle variants on the street. We have one Scooter for the class. Scooter availability is not guaranteed.
In order to take the course, you must have at least a learner’s permit to drive a car. If you are under the age of 18, you will need to have a parent or legal guardian sign an additional waiver.
The State of Texas no longer allows on site testing for licensure at the Department of Public Safety. This course or an equivalent, state-approved licensing course is required to regain your Class M license endorsement.
You do not need to bring any classroom materials. We provide books, pens, highlighters, and all audio-visual materials that will be needed. Though the waivers will be provided, you are welcome to download the waiver in advance to read, fill out, and sign.
Yes! We strongly believe that riders are typically more comfortable in their own gear. Fit and comfort are important for safe riding; however, for those of you who have yet to purchase gear, we are prepared to gladly provide helmets and gloves for the duration of the course. We have multiple sizes in stock, and we will do our best to accommodate each student. You will still have to bring a long-sleeve shirt, long pants, and over-the-ankle boots in order to be allowed to participate in the course.
Yes! Though we know you are excited to bond with your motorcycle, we encourage riders to use our bikes to complete the course. We have a wide selection of motorcycles, including small cruisers, sport bikes, and dirt bikes. Our bikes are student-friendly, and we would rather that you leave your shiny new machines in your garage; they will be anxiously awaiting your attention when you get home. Should you decide to use your own bike, you will have to sign a release of liability, and you will have to show proof of insurance.
The class is a total of 15 hours. There will be five hours of classroom and ten hours of Range. Each portion will be split across the two days. There is now an Ecourse that the student must complete before the class begins. The Ecourse takes 3-5 hours. All end times are varible, as each class is different.
Our range allows a maximum of eight students to be taught at once. Most class sizes average between four and six.
We will rarely cancel or stop a class due to weather. The BRC curriculum can be conducted in hot or cold, rain or shine. The only weather conditions that may cause a class to be temporarily shut down would be a nearby lightening storm or icy conditions at the range. We strongly encourage riders to come prepared to ride in the weather conditions. If it is going to rain, consider bringing a rain-resistant coat or jacket. If it is going to be cold, consider bringing some layers to keep you warm. Most of our classes here in Waco occur during blazing hot Texas temperatures. We will do our best on hot days to provide sources for hydration, but we strongly encourage each rider to consider bringing an electrolyte drink such as Gatorade or Smart Water to avoid succumbing to heat exhaustion. Your safety is our number one priority.
No! If you successfully complete our Basic Rider Course (testing inlcuded), all you have to do is bring your certificate to DPS to update your license. There is not further testing at DPS. You may be required to renew your license or take a new picture, and State fees may apply. (Most people have to pay a $16 charge at DPS to update their licenses with the Class M endorsement. $72 for Class A Holders)
Students under 18 WILL have more steps at the DPS office, and they will receive an M license with restrictions. Minors may be required to go back through a safety class when the turn 18 to have the restrictions lifted. Please call your local Drivers License office to ensure you know the steps for minors.
Yes! We try to accommodate as many people as possible. We will always be running classes on Saturdays and Sundays. Often, we will run classes during the week. Weekday classes often require a higher rate to meet the costs of running a class with inherently smaller class sizes. Should you have a group who wants to take the class and wants to run a custom pair of days during the week, give us a call! The two days may fall on any day that there is not already a class scheduled, and they do not have to run back to back. Rates will depend on the size of your group.
Yes! If you are concerned about riding in a group, you might be able to schedule a one on one class with our lead instructor, Caleb. The fee for an individual class is $500. This fee will put you through the standard Basic Rider Course, and you will be held to the same standards of completion as all other students, but you will receive personal instruction and attention. Individual classes will not exceed the standard 15 hour course time, but you will typically get more riding time, because there are no lines during the exercises. Should you want to reserve a class for a family, we might be able to help you. Due to high demand on weekend hours, we will only be able to accommodate custom classes or individual classes during week days. Special fees will apply, depending on the size of your group. Give us a call, and we will be glad to discuss the possibilities.
The Intermediate Riding Clinic requires intermediate skill. Though we do not require a certain level of experience, the rider will have to pass an introductory skills test upon arrival. Should the rider fail that skills test, he/she will not be allowed to continue the course, and no refunds or rescheduling can be given. These standards are set by Lee Parks, who designed the IRC course. There is a video of the Initial Riding Skills Test on our IRC page. If you are uncertain about your ability to pass the Entry Test, consider taking the two-day Basic Rider Course instead.
In some cases, the Basic Rider Course will count for a ticket dismissal. You will want to inquire at the department or location where the ticket was administered. It will depend on your driving record and the type of violation.
To reschedule a course, call us at (254) 652 – 0274 at least 48 hours before your class begins. If you call us at the last minute to reschedule, we reserve the right to charge you a discounted rate to sign up for another class. Though this is our policy, we understand that problems arise, and we will try to work with you when life throws a curve ball. Give us a call!
To pass the class, a student must complete attend all sessions, complete all assignements and activities, and receive passing scores on both evaluations.
There are two types of evalutations in the Basic Rider Course. The first will be completed during your electronic Ecourse, which has periodic testing to check for knowledge and comprehension. Each student will pass this portion before arriving for Day One. Failure of the Ecourse is considered failure of the entire course. The second test will occur on the Motorcycle on Day Two. It will consist of five evaluations that will test basic riding skills. There are several ways a student may fail the riding portion, such as not completing all five evaluations, accumulating too many points, or dropping the motorcycle during the evaluation.
Should the rider fail to pass either of these exams, it will be considered failure of the entire course. Students will also fail if they do not show up to the class or range on time, or if they refuse to participate in any of the classroom/range exercises. Sometimes, a RiderCoach may dismiss a student from the class at any time for one of three reasons:
Though these situations can be frustrating, our RiderCoaches will ONLY dismiss someone from the class if he/she feels that it is necessary for the safety of everyone. Failure of the course is not the end of your motorcycling adventure! Should you fail the course, you can go through the course again (from the beginning) with a blank slate! Fees for taking the course a second time will apply.
We typically do not administer refunds for classes, because once you have paid, we are holding a seat for you. Despite that policy, we will do
everything we can to be reasonable when circumstances arise.
Communication is key. If you do not show up on either day of class and you do not call before the class begins, please do not expect a refund or retake. It is your responsbility to contact us if you are late or unable to attend for any reason.
Didn’t see the answer you were looking for here? Call us at (254) 652-0274 or email us at Caleb@motowaco.com . We are happy to help!
Call: (254) 652-0274
Text: (254) 652-0274
Phone Hrs: 6am to 10pm
Office Hrs: Variable
1501 New Dallas Highway
Classroom and Range are now at the same location!
(Scroll Down to View Map)
Cash/Check Reservations By Appointment Only
Other Ways to Support Us: